Yesterday I saw a post on Facebook – parents want their children to stand out in a crowd but expect them to do what everybody else is doing. 

Ouch. That line hurt the Dad in me. And pronto – I shared the post with my wife. As if sharing the blame would bury the guilt! 

No matter how hard I try (and I try really hard), the madness of the crowd raises its ugly head every now and then.

But hang on. After 24 hours of introspection, one thing became damn clear. It’s not just the parent in us but also the entire individual in us, which behaves that way. Isn’t Facebook doing exactly that?

Posts after posts after posts extol the virtues of the achiever, the hero, and the wise. In fact, almost anyone and anything that we want for ourselves. 

But how many of those virtues that we extol are we ready to embrace? 

It reminds me of the last act in the movie – Scent of a Woman where Al Pacino addresses the disciplinary committee.

He says, “Now I have come to the crossroads in my life. I always knew what the right path was. Without exception, I knew. But I never took it. You know why? It was too damn hard….”

Yes. Extolling virtues is easy ‘cause we are paying lip service to what should be done. Embracing the crowd is easier ‘cause we merge and gods willing never find ourselves. 

Now I am not a proponent of standing out in a crowd rather believe in finding my own place under the sun. But to find that place I need to discover my own path. I need to script my own story my way. 

3 thoughts on “Extolling virtues but embracing madness

  1. Yes, so do I share the same fault, as a parent. Doing your own thing is what’s important, assuming that people may have set their heart on something. But standing out, for the sake of doing so, is also quite common, piercing one’s ear, for instance. It really doesn’t matter whether one stands out or not, as long as one is doing what one likes. That’s more important. That said, the photo is great and just what the topic required.

    Like

Leave a Reply

